Return to Headlines

Fox Chapel Area Students Named 2020 National Merit Finalists

Thirteen Fox Chapel Area High School seniors have been designated as National Merit Finalists in the 2020 National Merit Scholarship Program conducted by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation.

The Finalists from Fox Chapel Area High School are Paige AsburyAmelia Bothe, Hanna ChenJ. Oliver ChooHazel ClineClaire Fenton, Rajeev Godse, Noah Hertzman, Christiana Paljug, Sina Shaikh, Jake Sperry, Felix Veser, and Aaron Wu.  

These Fox Chapel Area High School students were named Semifinalists in September 2019 and have met all the requirements to advance to Finalist standing in the competition for National Merit Scholarships, which will be announced in the spring. The students are selected as Finalists based on their Preliminary Scholastic Aptitude Test/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT) scores and other factors, including SAT scores, a student essay, a school recommendation, and having an outstanding academic record throughout high school.  

Each year, college-bound 11th-grade students complete the PSAT/NMSQT.  All the students who take this test are automatically enrolled in the National Merit Scholarship Program, and approximately 15,000 advance to become Finalists.  The Finalists represent less than 1% of the nation’s high school seniors and compete for approximately 7,500 Merit Scholarships worth more than $31 million.