O'Hara Students Win "Battle of the Books"

A team of O'Hara Elementary School fourth grade students were named the winners of the 2015 Fox Chapel Area School District "Battle of the Books" Tournament. The winning team members were Madelyn Jones, Whitney Jones, Clara Kelley, Kate Leland, and Megan Mulhern. Their team name was the Rainbow Gummy Bears.

The annual tournament, held November 4 at O'Hara Elementary School, featured fourth and fifth grade students from Fairview, Hartwood, Kerr, and O'Hara elementary schools in the Fox Chapel Area School District. The tournament is the culmination of eight weeks of reading and studying books from a selected book list. The fourth and fifth grade students form teams and work with parent team managers to help prepare for the competition. During the competition, the students answer questions about the books they have read. Students also illustrate various books on poster board shields which are displayed around the auditorium during the tournament. A traveling trophy was presented to the team from O'Hara Elementary School and it will be kept in their school for the next year. The winning team also receives a plaque engraved with the team and students' names on it which is displayed in the winners' school.

The tournament was sponsored by the elementary library department of the Fox Chapel Area Schools. The Fox Chapel Area elementary librarians are: Karen Fornari, Kirsten Moller, Lynne Orsega, and Jasmine Precopio.