Students Named National Merit Finalists

Sixteen Fox Chapel Area High School seniors have been designated as National Merit Finalists in the 2016 National Merit Scholarship Program conducted by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC). The Finalists from Fox Chapel Area High School are Isabel Acevedo, Jessica Berg, Madelyn Coulson, Christopher Esch, Conor Gaffney, David Humphrey, Nicola Lee-Oesterreich, Shaina Munin, Stephen Polcyn, Sophie Rodosky, Anja Schempf, Sreeroopa Som, James Thomson, Daly Trimble, Konrad Urban, and Spencer Williams.

These Fox Chapel Area High School students were named Semifinalists in September 2015 and have met all the requirements to advance to Finalist standing in the competition for Merit Scholarship awards which will be announced this spring. The students are selected as Finalists based on their Preliminary Scholastic Aptitude Test/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT) scores and other factors, including SAT scores, a student essay, a school recommendation, and having an outstanding academic record throughout high school.

Each year college-bound 11th grade students complete the PSAT/NMSQT. All the students who take this test are automatically enrolled in the National Merit Scholarship Program and approximately 15,000 advance to become Finalists. The Finalists represent less than one percent of the nation’s high school seniors and compete for about 7,400 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $32 million to be offered this spring.

The NMSC is a privately financed, not-for-profit corporation.