High School PSAT/NMSQT High Scorers

Twenty-six Fox Chapel Area High School rising seniors are among the 50,000 highest-scoring participants on the 2017 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®) and have met the requirements to enter the 2019 National Merit® Scholarship Program. The students are: Vaishavi Agrawal, Abigail Baldauf, Justin Breen, Benjamin Cagan, Steven Cano, Kristen Friday, Arnav Gupta, Marissa Hardiman, Sanjana Harish, Theresa Heidenreich, Cara Himmel, Rachel Himmel, Jayanth Kashyap, Elizabeth Kaslewicz, Trevor Klatt, Zachary Lakkis, Mitchell Miles, Eric Moore, Jared Nord, Robert Shymansky, Annika Urban, Gina Wang, Benjamin Weiss, Landon Williams, Ziya Xu, and Chloe Yofan. Approximately 1.6 million students took the 2017 PSAT/NMSQT and these Fox Chapel Area students are among the 50,000 highest-scoring participants on that test from across the nation.

Approximately 16,000 of these highest scoring students will be named National Merit Program Semifinalists in September 2018, representing the top scorers in each state, and approximately 34,000 others will be commended for their performance on the PSAT/NMSQT. The Semifinalists will have the opportunity to continue in the competition for about 7,500 Merit Scholarship® awards to be offered in 2019.