Fox Chapel Area High School
611 Field Club Road / Pittsburgh, PA 15238 / 412.967.2430

Rotary Honors High School Seniors

The Rotary Club of Fox Chapel Area this month honored 15 seniors at Fox Chapel Area High School and nine at Shady Side Academy for academic excellence while meeting the Rotary ideals of good citizenship and service to their school and community.

Jacob Klein of FCAHS and Leila Skinner of SSA were each awarded $2,000 Service Above Self Scholarship by Fox Chapel Rotary. Twenty students, chosen by the various academic departments at the respective schools, were given $200 cash awards. Two others were awarded Honorable Mention in the Service Above Self competition and given a $200 prize.

Fox Chapel President Tom Benic said the annual awards luncheons at the Pittsburgh Field Club are highlights of the year for the club.

“We invited the parents this year and had our largest meeting attendance ever on back-to-back Wednesdays, May 9 and May 16,” Benic said. “It is truly inspiring to listen to each student talk about their accomplishments and goals. Both local schools and parents in the community are obviously doing a fine job in not only educating the next generation but also instilling ideals of good citizenship. Rotary is only too happy to recognize this excellence."

The Fox Chapel Area High students honored, the academic department they represent, and their college choices are, from left:

Karissa Becer, Social Studies Department, University of Southern California;

Cassidy Carson, Foreign Language Department, Studying in Germany next fall;

Abbe Cohen, Multimedia Department, Temple University;

Emma Francioni, Art, Baldwin Wallace University;

Eui Shin Jung, Health and Physical Education, University of Illinois - Urbana-Champaign;

Julia Kiszka, Technology Education Department, John Carroll University;

Jacob Klein, Service Above Self Scholarship, Rochester Institute of Technology;

Alexander Miles, Business Department, University of Pittsburgh at Bradford;

Elizabeth Mountz, Music Department, University of Pittsburgh;

Helen Paulini, Science Department, Boston College;

Rebekah Polcyn, Service Above Self Award, McGill University;

Jeff Savin, Math Department, Emory University;

Serena Smith, English Department, Bucknell University;

Elizabeth Sodini, Service Above Self Award, John Carroll University; and

Guinevere Stearns, Family and Consumer Science Department, Indiana University of Pennsylvania.

FCAHS Scholars 7536-1 copy.jpg