Fox Chapel Area High School
611 Field Club Road / Pittsburgh, PA 15238 / 412.967.2430

Students Win Regional 2017 Scholastic Art Awards

Several Fox Chapel Area School District students recently won awards for their entries in the Pittsburgh Arts Region of The Scholastic Art Awards of 2017. The show is being held February 4-19 at La Roche College and many entries were received from students from schools across the region.

The Fox Chapel Area High School Gold Key winners were seniors Nathan Andrud, Phoebe Beard, Roy Gao, Elaina Graca, Haley Herrmann (two Gold Keys), Alexis Hurwitz (two Gold Keys), Amanda Hurwitz (five Gold Keys), Emmeline Klatt, Sara Lankes, Ryan Moore, Solana Morningstar, Ashlyn Spencer, Amanda Trusiak, Bryanna Urso (three Gold Keys), Brenda Vernon, and Ailuo Zhang (two Gold Keys); juniors Katherine Goodwin, Julia Kisslinger, Madeline Macek, Sarah Sheerer (two Gold Keys), Julia Szymanski, and Danielle Werner; sophomores Sofia Porter Bacon, Noah Fritsch, Paige Johnson (two Gold Keys), Demi Rymer (two Gold Keys), Chelsea Taylor, and Ziya Xu; and freshmen Marilyn Brach and Keara Yasko. Additionally, Amanda Hurwitz won a Gold Key for their portfolio. The Gold Key winners will have their work sent to New York for national judging where they will be competing with other regional winners from across the United States for national awards. The winners of the national contest will participate in The Scholastic Art Awards National Exhibit.

The Fox Chapel Area Silver Key winners were seniors Phoebe Beard (two Silver Keys), Roy Gao (two Silver Keys), Elaina Graca (four Silver Keys), Haley Herrmann, Alexis Hurwitz, Amanda Hurwitz (four Silver Keys), Emmeline Klatt, Sada Lantgios (two Silver Keys), Ryan Moore, Molly Mozurak, Mary Clare O’Connor, Riley Perchinsky, Avalon Perdriel-Arons, Cole Rosenbloom, Krista Spuhler, Amanda Trusiak (two Silver Keys), Bryanna Urso, Brenda Vernon (two Silver Keys), and Ailuo Zhang (three Silver Keys); juniors Harley Beckey, Isabela Berg, Amanda Bozic, Sally Dean, Kathleen Dunn (two Silver Keys), Madelyn Flanagan (two Silver Keys), Grace Katz, Elizabeth Kauma (two Silver Keys), Katherine Kauma (four Silver Keys), Julia Kisslinger (two Silver Keys), and Kathryn Way; sophomores Paige Johnson, Sofia Porter Bacon (two Silver Keys), Demi Rymer, Katherine Teele, and Noora Tuominen; and freshmen Emma Fuhrer, Nicole Lazaro, Nicolas Perico, and Grace Sisson. Additionally, Bryanna Urso won a Silver Key for her portfolio.

Several students from Fox Chapel Area High School and one student from Dorseyville Middle School received Honorable Mentions for their entries. They are seniors Phoebe Beard (two Honorable Mentions), Emma Cassidy, Casey Dillon, Kira Galanter, Megan Hughes, Amanda Hurwitz, Kathryn Kenney, Emmeline Klatt, Sada Lantgios, Solana Morningstar (four Honorable Mentions), Mary Clare O’Connor, Avalon Perdriel-Arons, Krista Spuhler, Amanda Trusiak (two Honorable Mentions), Bryanna Urso (two Honorable Mentions), Brenda Vernon (two Honorable Mentions), and Ailuo Zhang; juniors Amanda Bozic, Taylor Collins, Kathleen Dunn, Madelyn Flanagan (two Honorable Mentions), Elizabeth Kauma (three Honorable Mentions), Julia Kisslinger, Sarah Sheerer (three Honorable Mentions), and Kathryn Way; sophomores Lauren Copeland, Diana Crookston, Katherine Eames (two Honorable Mentions), Paige Johnson, Noah Manges, Elizabeth Mautino, Margaux Miller, Greg Overbeck, Maya Rice, Demi Rymer (two Honorable Mentions), Madeline Richards, and Richard Strawn; freshmen Jon DeLuca, Leda Perdriel-Arons, and Lauren Sabol; and eighth grader Jessica McCann.

The regional award winners were selected by a panel of distinguished judges which included artists, art educators, and art professionals. All of these Fox Chapel Area students will be honored at a special closing celebration February 19 which opens at 12:30 p.m. followed by an award ceremony at 2 p.m. in the Kerr Sports & Fitness Center at La Roche College.

The Fox Chapel Area High School art teachers are Ron Frank, Joan Marangoni, Jody Shell, Christine Smith, Sarah Stewart, and Amy Wickman. The Dorseyville Middle School students are taught by Cheryl Etters, Nanci Goldberg, and Mary Jo Montgomery.