Fox Chapel Area High School
611 Field Club Road / Pittsburgh, PA 15238 / 412.967.2430


Thirty-one Fox Chapel Area High School juniors are among the 50,000 highest-scoring participants on the 2015 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT) and have met the requirements to enter the 2017 National Merit Scholarship Program. The students are: juniors Rohan Chalasani, Jared Cohen, Alec Eckman, John Feczko, Mihir Garimella, David Han, Elizabeth Heidenreich, Katherine Kauma, Sophia Lee, Yelim Lee, Darwin Leuba, Victor Marculescu, William Marsh, Sean McCoy, Tanvi Meringenti, Suvir Mirchandani, Jonathan Monroe, Grace Mueller, Hannah Mueller, Mary Clare O’Connor, Emma Paulini, Avalon Perdriel-Arons, Ellen Pil, John Ramassini, Bryce Ryan, Kai Shaikh, Caroline Smith, Philip Swigon, Martin Taxay, Nathan Wecht, and Houruiyang Zong. Approximately 1.5 million students took the 2015 PSAT/NMSQT and these Fox Chapel Area students are among the 50,000 highest-scoring participants on that test from across the nation.

Approximately 16,000 of these highest scoring students will be named National Merit Program Semifinalists in September 2016, representing the top scorers in each state, and approximately 34,000 others will be commended for their performance on the PSAT/NMSQT. The Semifinalists will have the opportunity to continue in the competition for about 7,400 National Merit Scholarships to be offered in 2017.