Fox Chapel Area School District
611 Field Club Road / Pittsburgh, PA 15238 / 412.963.9600

HS Students and Grads Named AP Scholars

A total of 112 current Fox Chapel Area High School students and 2014 graduates have been named Advanced Placement (AP) Scholars by the College Board in recognition of their exceptional achievement on the college-level AP examinations taken in May 2014.  Only about 20 percent of the more than two million students who took AP exams in May 2014 performed at a sufficiently high level to earn an AP Scholar Award.  The College Board recognizes several levels of achievement based on the number of courses and exams.  At Fox Chapel Area High School:

2014 graduates Patrick Campbell, Roman Cano, Dante Cordaro, Martin Kennedy, Richard Szabo, and Daniel Tabas and 2014-2015 seniors Gerry Chen, Rishi Mirchandani,and Samuel Waxman qualified for the National AP Scholar Award by earning an average score of 4 or higher on all AP exams taken, and scores of 4 or higher on eight or more of these exams.

•The following 49 graduates/students qualified for the AP Scholar with Distinction Award by earning an average score of 3.5 or higher on all AP exams taken, and scores of 3 or higher on five or more of these exams:  2014 graduates Marisa Acevedo, Sinem Akinci, Ariela Berg, Francisca Bermudez, Elizabeth Bianchini, Andrew Brady, Danielle Burton, Melissa Cagan, Natalie Campbell, Patrick Campbell, Roman Cano, Erica Chang, Ian Christie, Dante Cordaro, Samuel Ferguson, Kelly Friday, John Hartsock, Leila Hilal, Max Jahnke, Martin Kennedy, Paula Lee-Osterreich, Joshua Lehman, David Lewis, Addison Lynch, Lucas Marks, Jacob Norman, Andrew Ogren, Yonatan Quemado, Jonathan Stebbins, Richard Szabo, Daniel Tabas, Lauren Thaete, McKenna Trimble, Amogha Vijayvargiya, and Yiyi Zhao and 2014-2015 seniors Sonia Appasamy, Aaron Bliss, Sam Burke, Anna Burns, Gerry Chen, Frances Dean, Alexandra Drzewinski, Margaret Mertz, Rishi Mirchandani, Elianna Paljug, Peter Rozin, Deepika Sarma, Kanika Sarma, and Samuel Waxman.

•The following 22 graduates/students qualified for the AP Scholar with Honor Award by earning an average score of at least 3.25 on all AP exams taken, and scores of 3 or higher on four or more of these exams:  2014 graduates Shanna Boden, Evan Botos, Olivia Hilal, Annette Kukunas, Kaitlyn Schaffer, Habiba Shalaby, and Atalya Sunseri and 2014-2015 seniors Greta Altmeyer, Zoe Aridor, Jacob Chajson, Madison Chajson, Leah Eckman, Margaux Everingham, Rama Godse, Andrew Golio, Yosra Kandil, Zachary Kiehn, Frank Lou, Allison Redfern, Sophie Roe, Benjamin Smith, and Rachel Szabo.

•The following 41 graduates/students qualified for the AP Scholar Award by receiving scores of 3 or higher on three or more AP exams:  2014 graduates Emily Bach, Brendan Courson, Stephen Dolhi, Connor Duquette, Montgomery Faucher, Megan Hollingsworth, Abdelaziz Mansour, Colin Martin, Gabrielle McDowell, Juliet Millard, Colin Moir, Derrick Vetter, and Hannah Zonker and 2014-2015 seniors Brian Bartels, Sanders Bennett, Christina Cho, Nicole Fallert, Jessica Gorgas, Katherine Holland, Nikola Istvanic, Genna Kasian, Jordan Kerr, Kendal Krivinko, Gabrielle Kyle, Ella Meyler, Anandhini Narayanan, Simran Parwani, Akhil Ramgopal, Jaagrit Randhawa, Cole Ryan, Elizabeth Savin, Sarah Schachner, Christopher Selwood, Elizabeth Shneider, Margaret Slevin, Emily Thomas, Anna Wang, Matthew Werner, Jaysen Zaleski, Elijah Ziff, and Eleanor Zinn.

Advanced Placement exams are graded on a 5-point scale, with 5 being the highest.  Most of the nation’s four-year colleges and universities award credit and/or advanced placement for qualifying exam scores.  Every year, AP examinations are offered in a wide variety of subject areas, each consisting of multiple choice and free-response (essay or problem-solving) questions.